The Bible and the Everyday

14 Nov
St John’s Illuminated Bible – Collegeville MN

St John’s Illuminated Bible – Collegeville MN

It was my anxiety that did the trick. My anxiety was ramping up and starting to verge on panic. I was waking up at 3am worried about a myriad of things: people, tasks, to-do lists. My internal engine was revving at high speed and I couldn’t get it to slow down. To make matters worse, I am a psychologist. I’m supposed to know how to treat anxiety. But I couldn’t successfully treat it in myself. I prayed diligently for help and inner peace, but began to feel that God was not responding.

Then, I met two Christian psychologists, Drs. Henry Cloud and John Townsend. I attended a seminar to learn how to be a better therapist; I ended up learning a lot more about how to improve my own life. I have found profound relief from my internal suffering and I believe that relief is available (this side of heaven) to anyone who is willing to walk the path God has laid out for us. Those psychologists taught me that the Bible is relevant for me (and every person) and that it even talks about my anxiety and what to do about it.

I began to learn that the Bible is not just a collection of old, strange stories that have nothing to do with me and my daily struggles, but rather that it is a guide book written to help me every step of the way in my daily walk (Psalm 119:105) and it can help you too. I was led to several passages that speak about anxiety and I learned that through prayer and petition, I was promised a peace that transcends all understanding (Philippians 4:6-7). THAT grabs my attention and sounds good to me! God wants me to put my anxiety on Him, because He loves me (1 Peter 5:7). God encourages me to reach out to other humans for help (James 5:16). I don’t have to lie awake at 3am worrying about tomorrow because tomorrow will worry about itself (Matthew 6:34). God will look out for me and will even bring good out of the problems (Romans 8:28).

It shocked me that God’s word, written so very many years ago, could speak to me and could be a balm to my suffering soul, but it has been and continues to be every single day. I began to develop the practice of memorizing these verses so that I could recall them during times of struggle (Psalm 119:11). God’s time is not our time and that has been true in this process of discovery for me as well. I am coming to see incredible, miraculous fruits of the labor of the past year, but it was not a quick fix. I encourage you to open the Bible’s pages, read it, study it, give it time, and get ready for it to change your life.

– Alice Benton

One Response to “The Bible and the Everyday”

  1. gq under eye cream March 17, 2014 at 8:16 pm #

    I needed to thank you for this very good read!! I certainly enjoyed every
    little bit of it. I have you bookmarked to check out
    new things you post…

Leave a Reply

