What Fell Furtive Thing Within?

13 Aug

What fell furtive thing within
My beating breast
Doth don a darkening cloak?

What deadly secret whim
Doth hold my heaving chest,
And with a poison soak
The marrows of my soul?


What wretched act unknown,
Too well preformed,
Doth make a conscience ache
With grievous moans?
What holds a man forlorned
Of what doth make
The angels Heaven keep?


What thieving ghoulish mark
Of blackened orb
Doth dot my holy spirit sore?
What cunning comer harks
The measure to absorb
Of all my better lifelong lore,
For to abolish all that’s in me good?


Alas! is it not my own and secret sin?
Is it not my own and evil act?
Is it not my own and wretched whim,
That ruined the everlasting pact,
I made of old in younger years
To keep for sure through joys and tears?


And now it’s broke; and I do weep
To have forsook the Lord who keeps
Me still within my cheat,
And loves me, more my heart doth beat
The pulse of holy life within.
And I am not in soul yet dead;
I’m not forsaken of the One
Whom I have oft offend.


My Lord, my Lord
O good and gracious Lord!
My doomed sin I place
‘Fore Thy forgiving throne,
And swear to Thee
Upon Thy longing love
That never more my sin shall be.


-Michael Panka

One Response to “What Fell Furtive Thing Within?”

  1. Emily September 10, 2012 at 1:23 pm #

    This is beautiful.

Leave a Reply

